Do Oreos Have Dairy? Navigating the World of Milk in Cookies

Crunchy and delicious milk cookies have become a beloved snack in many households. Navigating the world of milk in cookies can prove complicated, and many people ask: Do Oreos have dairy?

Milk cookies have a more intense flavor than other cookies, thanks to the creaminess provided by the milk. However, if you or someone you know avoids milk due to a dairy allergy, lactose intolerance, health reasons, or because they follow a plant-based diet, you’ll be happy to know that several brands have scrumptious dairy-free cookies, including the Oreos.

However, how can the world’s favorite cookie, Oreos, which contains chocolate and cream, be dairy free?

Navigating the World of Milk in Cookies

Many cookie makers have captured cookie perfection in a world increasingly becoming more conscious of their diet. Some have managed to meet the challenges of providing the right flavor and texture better than others.

How to Choose Dairy-Free Cookies?

The most critical step for anyone wanting to avoid dairy is to always start by reading the list of ingredients on the packaging of cookies. You will know if a product contains dairy when you see ingredients like dehydrated milk, evaporated milk, and whey.

Here are some other things that are important for you to know when shopping for dairy-free cookies:

Difference between vegan and dairy-free – All vegan products are dairy-free, but dairy-free products are not necessarily vegan. Usually, dairy-free products are free of dairy allergens, and sometimes they may also be free of other allergens, but this is not always the case.

Sugar content – The absence of dairy in some desserts means that they require a higher sugar content to achieve the same texture and flavor as the same products containing dairy. The higher an ingredient gets listed on the packaging, the more of that ingredient a product has. Remember that the recommended daily sugar intake is 10% of consumed calories. Anything higher than that can cause weight gain that comes with health consequences. Therefore, if your favorite sweet snack is high in sugar, eat as little as possible.

Dairy-free does not equate to healthier – Even if your dairy-free milk cookie is gluten-free, soy-free, vegan, etc., it does not mean it’s more beneficial to consume—the reason is the amount of processing required to get a tasty final; product. Unfortunately, as we mentioned earlier, the more processing required, the more you expose yourself to calories and sugar. However, you are also exposing your body to more additives and refined oils, all of which have been linked to obesity, cancers, heart disease, etc. To avoid consuming so many processed products, eat them in moderation or look for dairy-free cookies with fewer processed ingredients.

Do Oreos Have Dairy?

You’ll be happy to hear that most Oreos are vegan treats, meaning they contain no dairy. Even though the creamy center of the cookie looks like it contains dairy, it has no milk.

The company has never revealed the recipe for the cream filling. Still, this article from The Daily Meal contains sugar, hydrogenated vegetable oil, high fructose corn syrup, soy lecithin, and flavoring from the packaging ingredient list.

These ingredients have a bad reputation but are already included in most foods, meaning moderation is vital to staying healthy.

Dairy-free Oreo classics include:

  • The Original
  • Double Stuf
  • The Most Stuf
  • Mega Stuf
  • The Most Oreo (new flavor)
  • Minis Original
  • Golden
  • Golden Double Stuf
  • Minis Golden

Go Dairy Free has an extensive list of all the flavors of dairy-free Oreo cookies, thins, and other Oreo products, making it easier to find your favorite treat.

Nabisco, the company that produces Oreos, circulates three gluten-free Oreos in the U.S., which are also dairy-free. These are:

  • Gluten-Free Original
  • Gluten-Free Double Surf
  • Gluten-Free Mint Cream (since 2023)

Sometimes, you may also find limited editions of seasonal flavors that may be gluten- and dairy-free. Foreign versions of the same cookies may not be dairy-free, so always check before buying or consuming.

Other Dairy Free Cookies

Oreos are not the only dairy-free cookies available. Here are more options, whether for a sandwich cream or plain cookie.

Similar to Oreos:

  • Newman O’s
  • Back to Nature
  • Some varieties of Lotus Biscoff
  • Keebler Vienna Fingers

Cookies without Filling:

  • Back to Nature Trail Mix Cookies
  • Simple Truth Organic Animal Crackers
  • Teddy Grahams

Healthier Options:

Lenny And Larry’s, The Complete Cookie Peanut Butter – The deliciously chewy dairy-free cookie is also very nutritious since each contains 16g of protein and 10g of fiber.

Madegood Organic Gluten-Free Snickerdoodle Soft Baked Cookies – if you prefer a mini cookie, these are perfectly sized, completely dairy-free, organic, and free of several allergens. Therefore, they also don’t contain nuts, eggs, soy, and gluten.

Partake Gluten-Free Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies – Here’s a crunchy chocolate chip cookie that is vegan and free of several known allergens. They contain buckwheat, cassava, tapioca flour, and oat. They also have no preservatives or artificial flavors.

Munk Pack Protein Cookie Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip – This is another delicious cookie made with chocolate chips and peanut butter with a high protein and fiber content.

Emmy’s Organic Lemon Coconut Ginger Cookies – These cookies are grain free and contain organic ingredients, including coconut, coconut oil, almond flour, and agave.

E&Cs – Organic Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Gluten-Free Cookies – These organic oatmeal cookies are dairy and gluten-free.

Tone It Up Plantbased Protein Cookie Chocolate Chip – A delicious dairy-free chocolate chip cookie with a tiny amount of sugar.

 Goodie Girl Smores Sandwich Cookies Gluten Free – These graham cookies have a marshmallow cream filling you can’t resist. They contain no artificial colors, preservatives, or high fructose corn syrup.

Larabar Gluten-Free Bar Cashew Cookie – Here, we have a cookie that resembles a health bar since it only contains cashews and dates, giving them a high protein and iron content.

Final Take

Navigating the world of milk in cookies, we found the answer to the question: Do Oreos have dairy? It’s good to know that most Oreos and other popular biscuits are vegan and don’t have dairy. However, remember that there is always some risk of cross-contamination with products made in factories that handle several ingredients for the various cookies they produce.


Do all Oreos have dairy?

No, most Oreos are vegan and don’t have dairy. However, some foreign versions of the same cookies may contain dairy so it’s important to check before buying or consuming.

Are Newman O’s Dairy Free?

Yes, Newman O’s are completely free from dairy and other allergens such as gluten, soy, eggs, and nuts. They make a great alternative to Oreos for those looking for a delicious yet safe cookie option!

Are Teddy Grahams Dairy Free?

Yes, Teddy Grahams are indeed entirely dairy-free. Unlike many other cookies that contain milk products in their ingredients list, these do not. Thus they are an excellent choice for those with dairy allergies or simply looking for a dairy-free treat!

Are there any healthier options for dairy-free cookies?

Yes, there are several healthy and delicious options out there. From the vegan Partake chocolate chip cookie to the Munk Pack protein cookie with peanut butter chocolate chips, you can find something that fits your dietary needs and tastes great too!

Are Oreos gluten-free?

No, most Oreos are not gluten-free. However, some of their special edition cookies may be made without wheat, meaning they would be considered gluten-free. It’s best to check each package before purchasing if this is important to you.

Do Oreos have eggs?

No, none of the Oreo varieties contain eggs. However, several others are available on the market if you’re looking for an egg-free option. For example, Munk Pack Protein Cookie Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip and Emmy’s Organic Lemon Coconut Ginger Cookies are vegan and eggs-free.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *